Official website of the City and County of Honolulu
  You are here:  Main / Charter Commission / Charter Question 1


Charter Commission

Donn M. Takaki

Jeffrey T. Mikulina
Vice Chair

James C. Pacopac

Jim Myers

Andrew I.T. Chang
Gerald L. Coffee

E. Gordon Grau, Ph.D.

Amy H. Hirano

Jared N. Kawashima

Darolyn H. Lendio

Stephen E. Meder, Arch.D.

Jan N. Sullivan

Malcolm J. Tom

Chuck T. Narikiyo
Executive Administrator


Return to Homepage

Charter Question 1

On the November 2006 ballot:  Should City Council term limits be replaced by Alternative A or B below; and, separately, to address concerns relating to election of City Council members caused by reapportionment every ten years, should staggered terms be replaced by Alternative A or B below?

Vote YES or NO

Digest of the amendment:

Present:  The City Council consists of nine members who are elected to four-year terms.  Councilmembers and the Mayor are currently limited to two consecutive four-year terms.  Councilmembers' terms are also staggered, so that five of the seats are elected in one election, and the other four seats are elected in the next election two years later.

If proposal passes:

  • The current system of term limits and staggered terms for the Council would be changed.
  • The new system for the Council would be determined by the result of the vote on the next question.
  • The term limit for the Mayor would not be changed.

Full text of the proposed amendment:

If Charter Question 1 passes, then the amendment to the Charter depends on the result of the vote on Charter Question 2.  See full text for Charter Question 2.


Go to Next Question

Return to Homepage





Last Reviewed: Tuesday, December 19, 2006