|You are here: Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2014 / 04/30/14 New document requirements for driver's license and fee changes for state identification cards to take effect on May 1|
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Contact: Christian Hellum, Department of Customer Services 768-3496
New document requirements for driverís licenses and fee changes for state identification cards to take effect on May 1
Honolulu Ė In accordance with State Department of Transportation Rules, the City and County of Honolulu will begin the implementation of new regulations governing the issuance of driverís licenses at its Drivers License offices, effective May 1, 2014. Additionally, new fee changes for state identification (ID) cards will also go into effect on May 1.
The requirements for supporting evidence to accompany applications for a driverís license in Hawaii will now become identical to the document requirements in place for state identification cards.
As a result, in addition to satisfying requirements for documenting the applicantís legal name, date of birth, legal presence in the United States and social security number, those seeking to obtain a Hawaii driverís license will also be required to present two forms of proof of principal residence in Hawaii. These include bank, or agency-issued documents mailed to a residentís principal residence, such as utility bills (electric, water, sewer, cable TV), vehicle registration or title, current driver license, voter registration, property tax assessment form, student identification card, and medical insurance cards, among others.
ďSimilar requirements for supporting documents have already been in effect for obtaining a State ID card, said Sheri Kajiwara, Director of the cityís Customer Services Department. ďInternal staff training and public information efforts are ongoing as there are many individual circumstances to be addressed. We highly recommend that those seeking a Hawaii driverís license take the time to understand the document requirements, before going down to a Drivers License office.Ē
Names shown on all certified or original documents must be identical. In the event names do not match, such as may result from a name change due to marriage, the marriage certificate, or other government-issued document proving the name change must also be submitted with the application. For a more detailed list of acceptable documents, residents are encouraged to visit
The new regulations are part of a broader implementation by the Department of Homeland Security of the Real ID Act of 2005, which requires Hawaii and all other states to comply with strict rules before issuing a driver license or state identification card.
Also simplifying the program, the fee for both state IDs and driver licenses is set at $5 per year. State ID cards are issued with an eight-year term of validity, regardless of the age of the applicant, for a $40 charge. Driverís licenses are issued for different periods depending on age groups. Duplicate cards incur a $6 charge for all.
- END -