Official website of the City and County of Honolulu
 
  You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Motor Vehicles, Licensing and Permits Division / Graduated Driver License Porgram (GDL)
 

City Information on Twitter

Graduated Driver License Program (GDL)

 

 

ATTENTION TO ALL MINOR APPLICANTS, THE FOLLOWING CHANGES IN THE LAW MAY AFFECT YOU IN OBTAINING YOUR DRIVER LICENSE

 

The State of Hawaii will initiate a new Graduated Driver License Program (GDL), pursuant to Act 72, 2005 Hawaii State Legislature. Changes to the current licensing procedures are being implemented to comply with this new law. Click here to go to the State's website then click on the "Graduated Driver Licensing" link on the left to view the GDL brochure.

 

Effective January 9, 2006:

  • The minimum age to obtain an Instruction Permit remains at 15 years of age.
  • A Provisional License may be issued at 16 years of age.
  • A Driver License may be issued at 17 years of age.
  • Applicants between the ages of 15  through 17 years of age must possess a valid Hawaii Instruction Permit for a period of 180 days, and, while operating a motor vehicle be seated next to a person who is at least 21 years of age and licensed to operate the same type of motor vehicle. However, between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., the supervising parent or guardian must be seated next to the minor driver. 
  •  Applicants must not have any pending violations that may result in suspension or revocation of either the Instruction Permit or Provisional License.
  • To obtain a Driver License at 17 years of age, you must have held a Provisional License for a period of six months.

 

Note: If your Provisional License expires on a weekend or State holiday, you must convert to a Driver License by the last working day prior to the expiration date.

 

Last Reviewed: Monday, July 08, 2013