Every person who drives any type of motorized vehicle is required to be tested and licensed. Please review the following information to assist you in applying and qualifying for a Hawaii Driver's License or for an Instruction Permit for passenger cars, motorcycles, motor scooters and mopeds.
All the driver licensing stations (Kalihi-Palama, Wahiawa, Kapolei, Koolau, and Waianae, plus the Commercial Driver License office at 99-501 Salt Lake Blvd.) have a new statewide computer/camera licensing system. Satellite City Halls at Fort Street, Hawaii Kai, Pearlridge and Windward City process renewals and duplicates only, using the new computer/camera system.
Improvements provided by the new system provides increase card security. The size of the license is not changed, click here to view sample driver's licenses.
Effective April 30, 2008, the expired driver's license of a member of any component of the United States armed forces who is on active federal service and whose driver's license expired while deployed outside of the United States, shall remain valid for ninety days after the service member's return to the United States.
Beginning November 3, 2008, Hawaii driver's licenses issued to applicants 25 through 71 years of age shall expire on the first birthday eight years from the date of issuance. Licensees under the age of 25 shall be issued a four year license, except for provisional licenses which shall expire on applicant's 19th birthday.
Beginning Monday, March 5, 2012, proof of "legal presence" will be required for driver licenses and learner's permits throughout Hawaii in accordance to Act 38 of the 2010 state Legislative session. Click here for a full list of the Legal Presence Act requirements and frequently asked questions.
Important Matters to Remember
Email: Information Section, Customer Services Department
- The vehicle you intend to drive must have current license plates and registration card.
- The vehicle you intend to drive must have a current safety check.
- Your Hawaii motor vehicle insurance card must be current and valid. The name of the insured must be the same as the registered owner of the vehicle.
- You must have all personal data proof documents available when reporting for a driver's license. ID with photo required when applying for services.
- You should review traffic laws and rules of the road. You should study the Hawaii Driver's Manual prior to tests. Manuals are available at local bookstores and State libraries, or http://hidot.hawaii.gov/highways/files/2013/01/mvso-Hawaii-Drivers-Manual.pdf.
- If you are under treatment for alcohol or substance abuse, you are required to have a medical clearance to obtain a driver's license.
- If you have a medical condition which may affect your fitness to drive safely, you are required to submit a Medical Report for review by the Medical Advisory Board. The Medical Report form is available at all Driver License locations, Satellite City Halls and at http://hidot.hawaii.gov/highways/files/2013/01/mvso-Medical-Report-Form.pdf
- If you are unable to read and/or write and understand the English language, provisions may be made for an oral examination (restrictions may apply).
- You must have an Instruction Permit before you can apply for a Road Test.
- If you are required to perform a road test, you may request a Road Test at the time of issuance of the Instruction Permit, or in person at any location for an appointment.
- If you are 15 ½ through 17 years of age and issued an Instruction Permit, you must hold the permit for a period of no fewer than 180 days. Also, you must be 16 through 17 years of age before being eligible to take the Road Test.
- For Class 4 non-CDL applicants, a medical examination long form (DOT 4-766) may be required if the Division of Motor Vehicles does not have a valid form on file at the time of renewal or replacement.