Official website of the City and County of Honolulu
  You are here:  Main / Neighborhood Commission Office / com / 13 / Commission Oct Special Minutes 1

Neighborhood Commission



MONDAY, OCTOBER 28, 2013   



CALL TO ORDER: Chair Sylvia Young called the meeting to order at 6:45 p.m.; the meeting was delayed due to exigent circumstances (due to a rally at the Capitol that caused major traffic delays in the area).


Members Present – Tyler Dos Santos-Tam, Robert “Bob” Finley, Kathleen Pahinui, Robert “Bob” Stubbs, Claire Tamamoto (arrived 6:52 p.m.), Russell Yamanoha, and Sylvia Young. 


Members Absent – Loryn Guiffre and Charles Zahn.


Guests – Larry Veray (Member, Pearl City NB No. 21), Bert Narita (Member, Diamond Head NB No. 5), Roger Clemente, Laura Yoshida (Deputy, Corporation Counsel), Nicole Velasco (Executive Secretary), Romeo Garcia, Bryan Mick, Marie Richardson (Neighborhood Commission Office staff).  


ROLL CALL OF COMMISSIONERS, ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM:   A roll call of Commissioners established a quorum of seven (7) members present.


APPOINTMENT OF QUALIFIED RESIDENT(S) TO SERVE ON THE PEARL CITY NEIGHBORHOOD BOARD NO. 21 IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE NEIGHBORHOOD PLAN 2008 SECTION 2-14-104 (E):  Chair Young briefly explained that this meeting has been convened in order that the Commission may act upon their duty to appoint one (1) member to the Pearl City NB No. 21 for reasons due to the lack of quorum.


Provided in the Commission’s packet for review was: a) Correspondence from Chair Pro Tem Cruz Vina requesting assistance; b) Status of current NB membership, a list of meetings where there was a lack of quorum, and reasons why the NB lost quorum; and c) A brief bio from Roger Clemente, candidate for appointment. It was confirmed that Clemente was present and in the audience. 


A motion was entertained:  Finley moved, Stubbs seconded to appoint Roger Clemente to the Pearl City NB No. 21. The motion was ADOPTED, 6-0-0 (Aye:  Dos Santos-Tam, Finley, Pahinui, Stubbs, Yamanoha, and Young). Chair Young administered the Oath of Office to Roger Clemente. 


Claire Tamamoto arrived 6:52 p.m., Seven (7) members present.    


ADJOURNMENT:  The meeting adjourned at 6:54 p.m.  


Submitted by,

Marie Richardson

NCO staff


Reviewed by,

Bryan Mick, CRS


Reviewed by,

Sylvia Young, Chair



Last Reviewed: Tuesday, November 19, 2013