Official website of the City and County of Honolulu
  You are here:  Main / Neighborhood Commission Office / com / 14 / Neighborhood Commission June Agenda


Neighborhood Commission

Printable Version (copy and paste into browser)





Monday, June 23, 2014  

6:35 p.m.

City Council Committee Meeting Room

Honolulu Hale, Room 205

530 South King Street



Rules of Speaking:  Anyone wishing to speak is asked to raise their hand, and when recognized by the Chair, to address comments to the Chair. Speakers are to keep their comments under 3 minutes.

Please silence all electronic devices.


Note:  The Commission may take action on any agenda item. As required by the State Sunshine Law (Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 92), specific issues not noted on this agenda cannot be voted on, unless properly added to the agenda.


I.        Call to Order by Chair Sylvia Young

A.   Roll Call of Commissioners, Establishment of Quorum


II.               Report of any Neighborhood Commission business considered by the  

          Liliha/Puunui/Alewa/Kamehameha Heights Neighborhood Board No. 14.


III.     Adjudication Hearing on Complaint 2014-04 Watland v Youngquist (The complainant and   

         respondent each have 15 minutes to present their case)




The complaint hearing is being conducted in accordance with Chapter 18 of the Neighborhood Plan, which is posted on the Neighborhood Commission Office web site  For more information, call the Neighborhood Commission Office at (808) 768-3710.


IV.     Approval of Minutes

          A. Special Meeting Minutes – February 24, 2014

          B. Regular Meeting Minutes – April 28, 2014

          C. Special Meeting Minutes – May 14, 2014

D. Special Meeting Minutes – May 28, 2014

E. Special Meeting Minutes – June 4, 2014


V.       Public Concerns (limited to 3 minutes each)


VI.      Executive Secretary’s Report

A.   Staff Update


VII.     Committee Reports

A.   Elections Committee – Chair Charles Zahn

Members Loryn Guiffre, Tyler Dos-Santos Tam, Sylvia Young (ex officio)

B.   Finance Committee – Chair Claire Tamamoto

Members, Kathleen Pahinui, Russell Yamanoha, Sylvia Young (ex officio)

C.   Neighborhood Plan Committee – Chair Bob Finley

    Members, Bob Stubbs and Sylvia Young

D.  Survey Committee – Chair Loryn Guiffre

      Members, Russell Yamanoha, Tyler Dos-Santos Tam

      1. Lynn Matusow Concern about Neighborhood Commission Survey


VIII.         Commission Business

A. Authorization of Digital Voting Method for the 2015 Neighborhood Board Elections (NP section 2-17-101 (b))

B. Appointment of Chief Elections Officer (NP Section 2-17-102)

      C. Report on Evaluation of Neighborhood Board Visitations


VII.     Announcements

A.   The Neighborhood Commission’s regular meeting is tentatively scheduled for Monday, August 25, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. at the City Council Committee Meeting Room, Honolulu Hale, Room 205, 530 South King Street. This meeting may be recessed pending Commission action.


VII.     Adjournment



A mailing list is maintained for interested persons and agencies to receive Neighborhood Commission agendas and minutes.  Additions, deletions, and corrections to the list may be directed to the Neighborhood Commission Office, Honolulu Hale, 530 South King Street, Room 406, Honolulu, HI  96813; Telephone:  (808) 768-3710;

Fax:  (808) 768-3711; E-mail:  Agendas and minutes are also available on the Internet at


Persons wishing to attend any meeting with questions about accommodations for a physical disability or special need should call the Neighborhood Commission Office at (808) 768-3710 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at least 24 hours before the scheduled meeting.

Last Reviewed: Tuesday, June 17, 2014