You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / Honolulu News Releases 2003 / Mayor Harris Named to the American Institute of Architects' National Board of Directors


October 9, 2003



            The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has named Mayor Jeremy Harris to serve on its national board of directors for a two-year term beginning December 2003.

            With his appointment to the position of Public Director, the Mayor joins an elite group of individuals who have served on the national board of one of America’s most prestigious professional organizations—among them, Dr. Jonas Salk, developer of the polio vaccine, and futurist John Naisbitt, author of the best-selling Megatrends series.

            Mayor Harris was nominated for the directorship by John Fullmer, AIA, president of AIA Honolulu.  He cited the Mayor’s unfailing commitment to design excellence in public architecture and his leadership in the areas of sustainability and livable communities.

            “Mayor Harris has done an exemplary job of challenging the city’s architects and engineers to pursue excellence in their design efforts in order to improve the built environment of our island,” Fullmer said.

            Also supporting the Mayor’s nomination were prominent AIA Honolulu member architects W.H. Raymond Yeh, FAIA, Dean of the University of Hawaii School of Architecture, Elmer E. Botsai, FAIA, past president of AIA National and former Dean of the University of Hawaii School of Architecture, Daniel Chun, FAIA, Ted Garduque, FAIA, and Senator Daniel Inouye, Honorary Affiliate of AIA Honolulu.

            Mayor Harris’ election to the Board of the national AIA is the most recent indication of the recognition he has received as a champion of sustainable urban planning and design.  Since 1996 Mayor Harris and the City and County of Honolulu have earned more than 100 national and local awards for significant accomplishments in urban design, management, and efforts to preserve the quality-of-life in Honolulu.

             Notable examples include:


·        U.S. Conference of Mayors 2003 City Livability Award for exemplary leadership

·        American Planning Association’s 2002 National Distinguished Leadership Award

·        American Society for Public Administration, Public Administrator of the Year (1996-97)

·        National Association of Counties 2002 Distinguished Service Award for County Officials

·        Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau Kahili Award for Architecture at the Hanauma Bay Marine Education Center (2003)

·        AIA Design Excellence Awards for such projects as Kuhio Beach/Kalakaua Promenade (2001), Kapiolani Park Bandstand (2001), Myron “Pinky” Thompson Canoe Halau (2003), and the Kapolei Civic Center (2001)


For more than 145 years the AIA has represented the professional interests of America’s architects.  As AIA members, nearly 70,000 licensed architects and allied professionals express their commitment to excellence in design and livability in our nation’s building and cities. 

            Since 1926, the local Chapter, AIA Honolulu, has served its membership and the community by promoting design excellence in Hawaii’s built environment.  Its continuing education programs promote leadership and professionalism among its 750 members, and educate the public about architecture and the value of quality design.

             For more information, call the AIA Honolulu office at (808) 545-4242 or visit its Web site at .




Thursday, October 09, 2003

© Copyright 2002-2006 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement