You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2007 / FIRST LADY AWARDS HONOLULU $150,000 PRESERVE AMERICA GRANT



July 12, 2007

Release No. M-73-07





            First Lady Laura Bush today awarded the City and County of Honolulu a $150,000 Preserve America grant for the Chinatown Special Historic District, which she had designated a Preserve America Community last May.  U.S. Senator Daniel Akaka and Congressman Neil Abercrombie accepted the award on behalf of the City in ceremonies on Capitol Hill.


            Preserve America is a White House initiative that was developed with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, the Department of the Interior, Department of Commerce, and other federal agencies.  Chinatown was the first site in Hawaii to receive a Preserve America designation of any kind.


            Mayor Mufi Hannemann, who has championed the revitalization of Chinatown as a culture and arts center, said, I was pleased to learn that the City had earned this competitive award.  It will enable us to partner with community organizations to pursue revitalization projects that were identified at the Chinatown Summit a year ago.


            The grant will be used to promote the history and culture of Chinatown to visitors and residents and provide a richer experience for visitors, with the goal of providing a more meaningful visit and stimulating more business activity.


            The grant will be matched dollar-for-dollar by the City.


            The application for Chinatowns designation as a Preserve America Community Neighborhood was submitted by the Honolulu Culture and Arts District Association, with the support of Mayor Hannemann, his Office of Economic Development, and the Historic Hawaii Foundation, with endorsements by the Downtown Neighborhood Board and Councilman Rod Tam.




Bill Brennan, 527-6928

Thursday, July 12, 2007

© Copyright 2002-2008 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement