You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2007 / Mayor Names Solid Waste Advisory Committee

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                      April 2, 2007

Release No. M-31-07




            Mayor Mufi Hannemann today announced he has established the City Solid Waste Advisory Committee, made up of 20 individuals, to advise him on refuse- and recycling-related matters.

            Ex officio members will be Dr. Eric Takamura, director of the City Environmental Services Department; a member of the Honolulu City Council, and a representative of the state Department of Health.  State law also requires that the committee also review the City’s integrated solid waste master plan.

            “I’ve appointed a stellar group of individuals who represent environmental organizations, business, labor, the military and our youth,” said Hannemann. “We appreciate the willingness of these individuals to get involved and help us address crucial issues involving our opala and recycling as we move toward a sustainable future for Oahu based on 21st Century Ahupua‘a concepts.”

            The members of the Solid Waste Advisory Committee, who will be convening their first meeting in early April, are:

·       Christopher Ballesteros, Damien High School junior and vice president of his class.

·       Paul Burns, vice president of Waste Management of Hawaii, which manages the City’s Waimanalo Gulch Landfill.

·       Aime‘e Frisbee, Leeward Community College student and Mililani resident.

·       Amanda Harrison, Kalaheo High School sophomore and honor roll student.

·       Linda Henriques, secretary-treasurer, Rolloffs Hawaii.

·       Lori Hoo, director of community relations, Hawaiian Electric Co.

·       Dan Ikei, vice president, SD Systems Hawaii.

·       Mike Irish, CEO of Halms Enterprises and Diamond Head Seafood.

·       Tate Kaneshige, Iolani School junior and recipient of the Girl Scouts Gold Award.

·       Col. Howard Killian, commander, U.S. Army Garrison Hawaii.

·       Beau Mohr, Hawaii Restaurant Association president and co-owner of the Pearl.

·       Dayton Nakanelua, state director, UPW

·       Harold Nakabayashi, vice president, Honolulu Disposal.

·       Laura Robertson, president and CEO, Goodwill Industries of Hawaii

·       Brian Schatz, CEO, Helping Hands Hawaii and a former state legislator.

·       Karen Shinmoto, business manager, Island Recycling

·       Rodney Smith, business manager, Covanta Energy, which operates the City’s H-POWER waste-to-energy plant.

·       Terry Telfer, president, Reynolds Recycling

·       Kevin Vacarello, Sustain Hawaii founder and co-facilitator.

·       Kathy Whitmire, president of the board of directors of the Outdoor Circle and former mayor of Houston, Texas.




            Bill Brennan, 527-2968

            Mark Matsunaga, 527-5767

Monday, April 02, 2007

© Copyright 2002-2008 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement