You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2007 / Mayor Hannemann Holds 2nd Annual Transit Symposium


Event Will Feature Transit Success Stories from Across the Nation


Honolulu’s 2nd Annual Transit Symposium will take place on Tuesday, November 13, 2007 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at the Neal Blaisdell Exhibition Hall, Pikake Room.  The symposium will feature dynamic leaders from Los Angeles, Salt Lake City, Vancouver, San Francisco and Denver who successfully developed fixed guideway transit systems and created transit oriented development (TOD) in their respective cities.


“There is much that we can learn from these cities about what works and what doesn’t,” says Mayor Mufi Hannemann.  “The symposium presenters represent a tremendous amount of expertise and experience and I’m excited by this opportunity for the people of Honolulu to hear about best practices, and adopt and adapt those methods here in our island home,” the Mayor adds.


Transit symposium presenters will participate in a series of panel discussions on mass transit during the morning hours of the Symposium.  The afternoon panels will focus on TOD. Throughout the day, attendees will have the chance to speak directly with all of the presenters.


The list of presenters includes:


Wellington Webb – former mayor of Denver. While in office from 1991 to July 2003, he oversaw an investment of $7 billion in infrastructure.  Webb is the keynote speaker and will deliver his address during the symposium luncheon.


Michael Townes – Incoming American Public Transportation Association (APTA) Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Hampton Roads, Virginia Transit Authority.   Townes is the featured breakfast speaker.


Dr. Martin Wachs – Director of Transportation and Infrastructure Programs for the Rand Corporation.  Dr. Wachs will serve as moderator for the day.


Rick Thorpe – Chief Executive Officer, Los Angeles Expo Line Construction Authority.


Samantha Bricker – Chief Operating Officer, Los Angeles Expo Line Construction



Roger Moliere – Chief Real Property Management and Development Officer, Los Angeles Expo Line Construction Authority.


Krishniah Murthy – Deputy Chief Capital Management Officer, Los Angeles Metro/Expo Line Construction Authority.


Mike Allegra – Assistant General Manager and Chief Development Officer, Utah Transit Authority (Salt Lake City).


Jeff Hewitt – Senior Vice President/Engineering, Canada Line (Vancouver).


Tony Guglielmin – Chief Financial Officer, Canada Line (Vancouver).


Raymond Louie – Vice President/Technical and Municipal Liaison, Canada Line (Vancouver).


Nathaniel Ford, Sr. – Chief Executive Officer, San Francisco Muni Transit.


Jim Lazarus – Senior Vice President for Public Policy, San Francisco Chamber of Commerce.


Mike Grisso – San Francisco Redevelopment Agency.


Media coverage of the symposium is welcomed.  Several hundred government, private industry and community representatives are expected to attend Transit Symposium 2007.  There is a $45 charge, which includes meals and refreshments.  For more information, visit:



Bill Brennan


Friday, November 02, 2007

© Copyright 2002-2008 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement