You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2008 / Mayor Hannemann Congratulates 'Forever Young' Winners


Winners of the inaugural Honolulu Forever Young awards are changing the way people think about aging and retirement, according to Mayor Mufi Hannemann.

“These seven winners are pace-setters of a new standard for the rest of us to follow,” Mayor Hannemann said. “They recognize that there are many opportunities and ways to stay active and healthy and contribute to our community after reaching the age of 65.”

The winners were announced Tuesday at an awards luncheon at the Hawaii Prince Hotel to highlight the City’s Honolulu Forever Young Campaign, which promotes active and successful aging. Award recipients were selected based on the successes of their current careers, their contributions to our community through mentoring, philanthropy, and volunteerism, and their healthy lifestyle.

            Winners of the Honolulu Forever Young awards were:

·         Dr. Satoru Izutsu, Senior Associate Dean for Administration, John A. Burns School of Medicine

·         Daniel B. T. Lau, Chairman of the Board/Corporate Secretary, Finance Factors, Ltd.,

·         Mary Y. Matayoshi, Executive Director, Volunteer Resource Center of Hawaii

·         Tom Moffatt, Owner, A Tom Moffatt Production

·         William Paty, Trustee, Mark A. Robinson Trust

·         James W. Y. Wong, President, James Wong and Associates

·         Rose Nakamura, Co-Founder & Administrator, Project Dana (Manawale`a Award)

All winners are 65 or older, gainfully employed at least 19 hours per week, and reside in the City and County of Honolulu.


In attached photo, L-R: Tom Moffat, Mary Y. Matayoshi, Rose Nakamura, Daniel B. T. Lau, Mayor Mufi Hannemann, Dept. of Community Services Director Debbie Kim Morikawa, William Paty, James W.Y. Wong, Dr. Satoru Izutsu.

Contact: Bill Brennan, Mayor’s Office, 527-6928


Wednesday, October 08, 2008

© Copyright 2002-2008 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement