You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2008 / City & County of Honolulu Presents Honolulu Forever Young Awards




Mayor Mufi Hannemann and the City & County of Honolulu kick off the Honolulu Forever Young Campaign with an award ceremony to honor seven individuals who are reshaping how we look at life after 65.  These individuals are changing our beliefs and attitudes about “aging” in the 21st century.  According to Mayor Hannemann, “We need to do more to acknowledge the valuable contributions made by our older adults and to encourage everyone over 65 that there are so many opportunities still to pursue, as epitomized by our honorees.


Over 50 nominations were received for this award.  Award recipients were selected based on the successes of their current careers, their contributions to our community through mentoring, philanthropy, and volunteerism, and their healthy lifestyle.  All are over the age of 65 and continue to lead in their careers and in our community.



WHAT:                Honolulu Forever Young Awards


WHEN:                Tuesday, October 7, 2008 

                              11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. 


WHERE:             Hawaii Prince Hotel

Mauna Kea Ballroom, 3rd Floor


WHO:                  Dr. Satoru Izutsu, Senior Associate Dean for Administration, John A.Burns School of Medicine
Mr. Daniel B. T. Lau, Chairman of the Board/Corporate Secretary, Finance Factors, Ltd.
Ms. Mary Y. Matayoshi, Executive Director, Volunteer Resource Center of Hawaii
Mr. Tom Moffatt, Owner, A Tom Moffatt Production
Mr. William Paty, Trustee, Mark A. Robinson Trust
Mr. James W. Y. Wong, President, James Wong and Associates
Ms. Rose Nakamura, Co-Founder & Administrator, Project Dana (Manawale‘a Award)

 #  #  #

Monday, October 06, 2008

© Copyright 2002-2008 City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii
Privacy Statement | Technical Support | Customer Service | Policy | Accessibility | Diversity Statement