You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2010 / Caldwell Announces Sept. 12 'Parade of Champions'





(Fri., Sept. 3, 2010)—Acting Mayor Kirk Caldwell today announced that the City and County of Honolulu will hold a "Parade of Champions" on September 12 for Waipio Little League All-Stars and seven other champion youth sports teams and individuals.


"Everyone is invited to join us for a community parade honoring these fine young athletes and role models," Caldwell said. "This is a wonderful chance to show our pride in their achievements and our home."


The parade will be held in Waipio-Gentry, the hometown of the Waipio Little League All-Stars that won the United States championship title at last month's Little League World Series.  The seven other national championship and titleholder teams and individuals originate and play in the Central/Leeward Oahu region, including:



  • Ewa Beach All-Stars – 2010 PONY Bronco World Series Champs
  • Central Oahu Boys 12u– 2010 USSSA World Series Champs (USSSA - United States Specialty Sports Association)


  • Po'okela – 2010 14 and up  Class B Western National Championship
  • Central Oahu Wahine Softball 12u Fastpitch – 2010 Diamond Dreams Hall of Fame Tournament Champions
  • Wahiawa Bobby Sox – National Tournament Championship


  • Abunai 95 Soccer Team of Mililani – U-15 Premier Division National Cup Finals


  • Keoni Adric Jr., Waipahu Boxing Club – 2010 Golden Gloves Champion, 2010 Ringside National Champion


The parade will start at 10 a.m. at the intersection of Ukee and Waipio Uka streets near the Waipio-Gentry Jack-In-A-Box. The parade will proceed down Waipio Uka Street, turn left on Ka Uka Boulevard, and conclude at Patsy Mink Central Oahu Regional Park, where the athletes will be honored. The parade is scheduled to conclude at approximately 11 a.m.


- 30 -


Media Contact: Scott Ishikawa, 768-4370