You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2010 / Acting Mayor Kirk Caldwell Announces Winners of the Third Annual Honolulu Forever Young Awards


August 2, 2010


Contacts:         Johnny Brannon                                  Debbie Kim Morikawa

Office of the Mayor                           Department of Community Services

Phone: 768-5767                                Phone: 768-7760           





            HONOLULU – Acting Mayor Kirk Caldwell today announced the winners of the third annual Honolulu Forever Young awards, honoring individuals 65 or older who exemplify “successful living.”  Award recipients were selected based on the cumulative successes of their careers, their contributions to our community through mentoring, philanthropy, and volunteerism, and their healthy lifestyles.


            “The Honolulu Forever Young awards honor dynamic leaders in the workplace and the community as they redefine our views of aging,” Caldwell said.  “These individuals are living life to the fullest, and remind all of us that reaching age 65 need not automatically bring thoughts of retirement.  It can instead by a prime time to pursue new interests and explore new challenges, as epitomized by our honorees.”

            The six winners of the 2010 Honolulu Forever Young awards are:

Mr. Wally Amos, CEO, Chip and Cookie

Ms. Ho‘oipo DeCambra, Housing Director, Wai`anae Coast Community Mental Health Center

Dr. Reginald Ho, Oncologist, Straub Hospital & Clinic

Ms. Patti Lyons, Historian and Secretary, Board of Directors, Consuelo Foundation

The Honorable Michael Town, Judge, State of Hawaii Criminal Division of the Circuit Court Ms. Jackie Young, Chief Staff Officer of Mission, American Cancer Society

This year, an additional ‘Oihana Maika‘i Award was added to honor a nominee who meets all of the Honolulu Forever Young criteria and scored at the top of the judges’ lists, but due to her affiliation with program sponsors, was not eligible for consideration.  The ‘Oihana Maika‘i Award for 2010 is awarded to Ms. Linda Wong, President, World of Aloha.


            The awards are part of the City’s Honolulu Forever Young campaign which aims to change the perception of retirement and aging. To find out more about the campaign and how you can get involved, follow Honolulu Forever Young on Facebook or visit


            The winners will be honored at an awards luncheon at the Hawai‘i Prince Hotel on Wednesday, October 6, 2010.  For information and tickets to the luncheon, please call 768-7760.