You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2010 / City & County of Honolulu Seeks Nominations for Honolulu Forever Young Awards


News Release



May 26, 2010


Contacts:   Bill Brennan                  Debbie Kim Morikawa

Office of the Mayor                         Department of Community Services

Phone: 527-6928                             Phone: 768-7760        







HONOLULU – The City and County of Honolulu in partnership with HMAA, HMSA, Farmers Insurance Hawaii, the Queens Medical Center, Hawaii Now, Star Bulletin/MidWeek, and Stryker Weiner and Yokota Public Relations Inc. proudly present the Call for Nominations for the City’s Third Annual Honolulu Forever Young Awards.


“Since 2008, the Honolulu Forever Young Awards have been a resounding success, honoring members of our community who are reshaping how we think about and plan for the next part of our lives,” said Mayor Mufi Hannemann. “We’ve been very impressed by the quality and quantity of nominations we have received, and we encourage the community to participate.”


The awards are part of the City’s Honolulu Forever Young Campaign, which aims to change the perception of retirement and aging by honoring those who continue to accomplish great things in their later years through their involvement in business careers; giving back to the community through mentoring, philanthropy and volunteerism; and serving as role models for the youth of our community.


Previous Honolulu Forever Young Award recipients are:


Dr. Satoru Izutsu, Daniel B.T. Lau, Tom Moffatt, Mary Y. Matayoshi, William Paty, James W.Y. Wong, and Rose Nakamura (special Manawale‘a Award)


Andrew D. Friedlander, Daniel Kaleikini, The Honorable Walter S. Kirimitsu, Sister Alicia Damien Lau, Lawrence Okinaga, and Oz Stender


The Honolulu Forever Young awards honor individuals based on their accomplishments in the following areas:

  • Career Successes;
  • Community Service/Philanthropy;
  • Mentoring/Community Capacity Building; and
  • Healthy Aging.


Nominees must be 65 years of age or older by June 30, 2010, be gainfully employed at least 19 hours per week, and reside in the City and County of Honolulu.


Nominations will be accepted from June 1 through June 30, 2010.  The entry form is available online at


Completed entries should be submitted online at  There is no charge to submit nominations. Entries must be received by 4 p.m. on June 30, 2010. No late entries will be accepted.  For more information call 768-7760.


The winners will be announced on July 30, 2010 and will be honored at an awards luncheon at the Hawai‘i Prince Hotel on October 6, 2010.


#  #  #