Official website of the City and County of Honolulu
  You are here:  Main / Customer Services / Public Communications Division / 2012 / 05/11/12 Memorial Day Poster Contest Winners



(Fri., May 11, 2012) – The City’s First Lady Judy Carlisle presented award certificates to the winners of the Sew a Lei for Memorial Day Poster Contest yesterday at Honolulu Hale.  First-place winners are Joel Agacid (4th grade), Ewa Elementary School; Raelynn Kala (8th grade), Kapolei Middle School; and Mark Mangayayam (12th grade), Farrington High School.  The winners received recognition certificates from Mayor Carlisle and prizes donated by Pacific Beach Hotel, First Hawaiian Bank, and Menehune Mac.


More than 600 entries were submitted from public and private schools throughout the state.  The contest judges were Stacey Yamashita, Pacific Beach Hotel; Cindy Ng, First Hawaiian Bank; Gabrielle “Gabby” Reznik, Miss Teen Hawaii World 2011; Dr. Gary Saito; and Kirk Matthews and Marisa Yamane from KHON 2.


The artwork of first-place winners will appear on posters and distributed to the Department of Education, private schools and all city parks and offices, encouraging the public to provide lei to decorate graves for Memorial Day at the National Cemetery of the Pacific and other veterans’ cemeteries.  All of the winning and honorable mention posters are exhibited on the third floor of Honolulu Hale through May 31.


Each year, the Department of Education is instrumental in coordinating the contest with schools and encouraging students to sew and donate lei for the Memorial Day ceremonies.  Nearly 30,000 lei of the 50,000 required are donated by school children throughout the state, with the majority coming from neighbor island public schools.


The Mayor’s Memorial Day Ceremony will be held on Monday, May 28, 2012, from 8:30 a.m., at the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific.  For more information, contact

the Department of Parks and Recreation at 768-3002.


The first- through third-place winners for each grade division are as follows:


Kindergarten-4th grade division

1st: Joel Agacid , 4th grade, Ewa Elementary School

2nd: Caeden Martin, 4th grade, Ewa Elementary School

3rd: Mia Alexandria Archer, 3rd grade, Ewa Elementary School


5th-8th grade

1st: Raelynn Kala, 8th grade, Kapolei Middle School

2nd: Kylah Reed, 8th grade, Kapolei Middle School

3rd: Keenan O’Kelley, 8th grade, Kapolei Middle School


9th-12th grade

1st: Mark Mangayayam, 12th grade, Farrington High School

2nd: Joseph Pagkalinawan, 10th grade, Roosevelt High School

3rd: Teuaililo Petelo, 12th grade, Kalani High School




Contact: Alex Ching, Department of Parks and Recreation, 768-3028.




Joel Agacid 4th grade Ewa Elementary School



Raelynn Kala 8th grade Kapolei Middle School



Mark Mangayayam 12th grade Farrington High School